The Book Ferret: The Women of Science Fiction Bookclub

TJ at the speculative fiction blog Dreams & Speculation is hosting a 2011 bookclub/reading challenge focusing on The Women of Science Fiction. The bookclub will read one book and one or two James Tiptree Jr. short stories per month. If you want to participate you can sign up here – it’s not necessary, since you could just follow the discussions on the blog, but TJ is offering prizes and giveaways to those who do sign-up, so why not take her up on that?

I studied a bit of feminist sci fi at university, but since then I’ve neglected the genre, so this opportunity inspired me to get reacquainted with the writers and heroines I admire so much. In addition, I’ve got a bit of a reading challenge addiction, and this is undoubtedly the best one I’ve signed up for so far, as it’s not just a reading guide but a chance to discuss and discover insights to some great sci fi.

The reading list for the year is as follows:

For ease of reference, you can download a .pdf version of the reading list

The bookclub will also be reading the James Tiptree Jr. short stories collected in Her Smoke Rose Up Forever. Tiptree isn’t just one of the best feminist sci fi writers, she’s one of my favourite sci fi writers in general, and my favourite short story writer, period. Consequently I’m very happy to get a chance to read, re-read, discuss and contemplate her stories in detail throughout the year. You can find the short story reading schedule on the sign-up page for the bookclub/challenge

The short story discussions will begin in the middle of each month, while the novel discussions will begin on the last day of each month. From what I could surmise from my exploration of Dreams and Speculation, TJ is a very attentive and insightful blogger who engages regularly and comprehensively with those who comment, plus she’s got plenty of followers, so I think this could be a very rewarding bookclub.

And if your preference is for fantasy rather than sci fi, don’t despair! There’s a bookclub for you too – Jawas Read Too! is hosting The Women of Fantasy bookclub for 2011. If I have the time, I’ll be joining that one too.

The Book Ferret is a weekly feature on Violin in a Void that will showcase a cool or interesting book-related find every Thursday. Notable new releases, great bookshops, events, cover art, websites, gadgets and accessories – anything to make bookworms happy.

If you want to join in, grab the Ferret pic, link it and your post back here, and add your name and url to the comments.

13 thoughts on “The Book Ferret: The Women of Science Fiction Bookclub

  1. Hey Lauren
    This sounds right up your alley… I must admit I struggle to read sci fi, so I’ll leave that up to you, maybe you can recommend some of the books to me at a later stage.

    Happy Ferretting!!!!

    • Yep, I love it 🙂 I’m sure I’ll come away with some recommendations for you. The Handmaid’s Tale is scheduled for November though, so maybe you’d like to swing by for that one?

    • The linky service I was using switched from free to subscription only, and since WordPress doesn’t support linkys or anything with Javascript anyway, I decided to just leave it out and use the comments instead.

  2. Pingback: Ooh a reading list! « Inarticulations

  3. A great idea. I saw the Women of Fantasy bookclub a while ago and got the list, but never quite made it to the first book. Hoping to catch up later.

  4. Pingback: Finding new lives in Abyssinia « Violin in a Void

  5. Pingback: A Letter to the Mysoginist in Galignani Bookshop, rue de Rivoli Paris « Travel Tips in France

Leave a Reply

