Finding new lives in Abyssinia

I should be posting my latest Book Ferret find, but instead I’m here to say that, unfortunately, The Book Ferret is being put hold, because fortunately/unfortunately/surprisingly/amazingly I will be moving to Ethiopia! My boyfriend works for the Department of International Relations and Co-operation here in South Africa, and he’s being posted as a diplomat to the African Union in Addis Ababa. So we’ll be living there for the next four years.

Now, I wasn’t particularly happy about this at first, having had New York, Paris, London and Geneva in mind as my ideal postings, but slowly my sense of adventure started kicking in, and now I’m quite excited and all ready to pack up my things and get on the plane.

What will I be doing in Addis Ababa? Not working for money, apparently – Ethiopia’s poor employment rates mean that the partners of diplomats aren’t allowed to work. This is one of the biggest drawbacks to the move, as I place a lot of value on having my own source of income. On the other hand, not having to work is also one of the biggest advantages of the move because, if I’m honest, most of my jobs have not been meaningful endeavours. They pay the bills but they steal time I could spend on the things that are important to me and force me to pour it into something that will never be memorable or admirable to me, even if it earns me a pat on the back.

So what I will be doing with the gift of free time is read more, write more, study more, blog more, explore more, travel more, learn more, live more. Even if I can’t work for a salary, there’s still community work, and I’ve already got my eye on a book charity in Addis. Every time I think about all the things I could do, I get impatient to hand in my resignation.

In the meantime, I won’t be neglecting Violin in a Void completely. I’ll still write reviews, even if they’re few and far between. Coming soon is a review of Hungry For You by webfiction author A.M. Harte, a collection of short stories based on the theme of zombies and love. Don’t think for a moment that this might be Twilight with zombies – it’s not nearly that gross and it’s a hell of a lot smarter.

In addition I’m still committed to doing the Women of Science Fiction Bookclub/Challenge, even if my spirit is not quite matched by my reading pace right now, and I’m planning to post reviews related to that whenever possible. Anything else will happen when it happens, including The Book Ferret, which will make an appearance if I have the time in between planning for Ethiopia.

One thought on “Finding new lives in Abyssinia

Leave a Reply

