Introducing Lauren and Lu’s Reviews

Books should be talked about, and even if you hate them at least they can give you a good conversation. My opinion of a book often changes a little when I discuss it with someone, because they show me things I didn’t notice before, or a new way of seeing things. So when my friend Lu from A Muggle’s Magical Book Blog asked me to do a guest review I thought of having something more interesting – an argument. Lu and I have very different tastes and expectations, and we’ll bring those together in joint reviews with in-depth discussions about the topics that are most important to us. As a result, I’m very happy to introduce Lauren and Lu’s Reviews.

As a reader, I enjoy most kinds of speculative fiction, and cross-genre fiction always peaks my interest, but mostly I just like books with something unusual about them. However, I don’t read much YA fiction, and I avoid romance and chick lit like the plague.

I can be fairly demanding. Writing is important to me – it’s just as much a part of the book as the plot or characters, with just as much potential to make it better or worse. I will never say that a book was good but the writing was bad, because in my opinion that’s not a good book. However, I’m a sucker for great ideas, so authors can always score a few points for being inventive and insightful.

I read for lots of reasons – entertainment, vicarious experience, curiosity, escape, learning, trying to see what’s behind the awards/hype/status.

Lu on the other hand is more easygoing and enjoys any book with a good plot. She appreciates good writing, but that can only take her so far. Give her great characters and surprising twists and she’s all yours!  Lu prefers mystery, paranormal and young adult fiction, but dabbles in all types of genres. She reads to get away from life and enjoy herself. She wants to be whisked away to Hogwarts and snatched up by vampires, as long as there is a good point to it.

Together Lu and I will review books by comparing our different opinions, and you get the benefit of two perspectives instead of just one. We’re both really excited about our new feature, and can’t wait to get going, so check back tomorrow for a Lauren and Lu Review of A Game of Thrones.

5 thoughts on “Introducing Lauren and Lu’s Reviews

    • Lol, I love how excited you are about it! Although I have to warn you – tomorrow’s review will have a ton of spoilers, so don’t read it until you’re finished with the book!

Leave a Reply

