The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms read-along part 2

The Hundred Thousand KingdomsAfter flying in from Paris overnight and sleeping away most of the day, I’ve just managed to finish writing this for an evening post. Part 2 covers chapters 10-16, and things are moving very quickly and dramatically! Naturally, there will be plenty of SPOILERS AHEAD. Our host for this week is Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings, and here are her questions and my answers.

 

1) We’ve started to learn about a side of Yeine’s mother that Yeine can barely believe existed. No one in this story seems all that capable of telling the objective truth, however, so who do you think Kinneth really was? A devoted mother? A traitorous schemer? Evil and cruel?

I think she could be all three and more. We all behave differently in the various contexts of our lives and the Kinneth that Yeine came to know was in world that differed vastly from Sky. People change, and Kinneth had experiences that could have changed her completely Parents are also more complex people than their children might initially assume, and I think that that’s what Yeine is learning about Kinneth now.

Jemisin has also written quite complex characters here, people with warring motives and a lot of grey areas. Most can’t simply be defined as good or evil, and I like the mixture of characteristics that Kinneth embodies. I really want to know more about her. Even though she never appears on the page, I think she’s one of the most interesting characters.

Viraine’s comment that Kinneth was “purpose incarnate” makes me wonder if she had some sort of overarching plan that has yet to be revealed. There’s still so much mystery surrounding her. Also, Ras Onchi said Kinneth told her that an Arameri must know “How to be cruel […] How to spend life like currency and wield death itself as a weapon.” This makes me wonder if Kinneth planned her own death for some reason. Either way, I’m just curious as to how these words will play out.

 

2) Wow major plot reveal Batman! Finding out about Yeine’s second soul was not something I saw coming at all. Did you suspect? Have any other theories? What do you think of this major plot development? What do you think Yeine should do?

I didn’t guess at the double soul thing specifically, but I knew there had to be some kind of connection between Yeine and an important figure from the distant past. I’d guessed at the human woman Nahadoth had slept with, and at the truth about Enefa.

The situation is more dire than I expected though. I didn’t think an alliance meant they wanted Yeine to die for them. And they’re far less respectful of Yeine than I’d come to believe. Zhakkarn and Kurue just see her as some tool. Sieh is more sympathetic, but ultimately he just wants his mother back. Admittedly that’s quite relatable. They’re a family, broken and betrayed, trying to fix things. Because they’re gods, there’s no real malice in the way they treat Yeine; it’s just that individual humans are insignificant to them, while finding justice for their mother is far more important. Even Yeine seems to understand that, and it’s her head on the chopping block.

I have no idea what Yeine should do, but I assume she won’t simply go to her death, and none of this will play out in a way that anyone expects. The Enefadeh aren’t even sure exactly what should happen. Yeine revealed that she’s narrating this while dead, and presumably this is why her memories are fractured and she needs to tell this story to reclaim them. There’s hope there – at least she’s in some sort of limbo state and not simply deceased.

 

3) We’ve gotten to know a lot more about Darr in this section and their traditions have both good and bad sides it seems to me. What do you think of their coming-of-age ritual for the women? What about women soldiers and men being left to protect the children? Any other traditions that struck you?
I’m not big on warrior traditions that require victims, but I like that Jemisin hasn’t written the Darre as some kind of idyllic matriarchal society. Inequality is inequality whether a society is matriarchal or patriarchal and I don’t see those rituals as noble but as a symptom of a social ill.

Scimina makes some interesting points about how the old ritual was better because it taught the warriors to nurture and love as well as to survive. However, I love what Yeine thinks to herself when Scimina asks if the new ritual teaches anything at all:

It taught me to do whatever was necessary to get what I wanted, you evil bitch.

I quite like that Jemisin has totally reversed our traditions of childcare, with men seen as the ones indispensable to the task. I consider many traditional assumptions about childcare and parenthood to be utter bullshit, so I love it when authors make up their own family structures. They’re not necessarily better, but they suggest that there isn’t only one way of doing things.

 

4) The Walking Death played a pretty big role in the past given none of this would have happened if Yeine’s father hadn’t gotten sick. There was discussion in the previous section about how the Death only infects commoners and those of high-birth aren’t affected. What do you think the Death really is? Any theories on why it infects only certain people?
Hmm, something created by Itempas as a way of maintaining order? An unhappy underclass is always a threat to the orderly status quo of the nobles. Since the nobles and Itempas value order, the Walking Death would be a convenient way of getting rid of pesky commoners who dare to rise up against them without hurting any of the nobles.

And if it can be controlled by a powerful Arameri like Dekarta, you could see how he might have had Yeine’s father inflicted with it. After all, he upset the seemingly perfect line of succession when Kinneth ran away with him. If he had died, Kinneth may have returned to Sky. The Death also drove home the point that her husband was a commoner.

 

5) Finally, we’ve learned a lot more about our enslaved gods between getting to know Nahadoth better, finding out what is up with Sieh, and seeing a rather bitter side of Kurue. What do you think of all these revelations? Has your favorite god changed?
It’s so twisted I don’t know where to start! There’s lots of somewhat incestuous behaviour going on: Enefa as sister and lover to Nahadoth and Itempas; Itempas in love with Nahadoth; Sieh’s slightly sexual suggestion that he could look older for Yeine if she wanted him too. Then again, incest might not have any meaning for the gods, given that they don’t have genes like we do.

I like the fluidity of Nahadoth’s gender, as seen in him image in the library:

a lithe, sensual figure […] I frowned in confusion, arching up to touch what might have been a swirl of cloth, or a rounded breast.
“Itempas forced him into a single shape,” said the old woman, he voice very soft. “When he was free he was all things beautiful and terrible.”

I’m fascinated by the relationship between Itempas and Nahadoth, and the difference between the official depiction of Itempas and the one we get from the other gods. He’s been made into the embodiment of goodness and perfection, but the others reveal the dysfunction in his demand for order, the jealousy he felt when Enefa intruded on his existence with Nahadoth, and his cruelty in killing Enefa and binding the others. He’s also depicted without any sense of sexuality, and now we find out that he killed his sister to have his older brother all to himself. The god everyone worships is a jealous, gay and incestuous. Which is so much better, because perfect gods without lusts and longings are so boring.

I still like Sieh a lot, but I think I’m more interested in Nahadoth now. You never know what kind of attitude he’s going to have when he appears, or how dangerous he’s going to be. How does he feel about his relationship with Itempas? What happened between him and Kinneth? Lots of mysteries here. I’d like to know more about Khakkarn and Kurue too, just because I’m curious.

 

Quotes and Notes:

“If Itempas hadn’t used poison, He could never have slain her outright. But she trusted Him. Love Him.”
 – Itempas poisoning Enefa parallels Dekarta poisoning Kinneth, although we still don’t know all the details there.

I like how the demons’ blood was poisonous to the gods, so the gods hunted down and killed them, afraid that the demons would taint the blood of the human race, making them all poisonous to gods. And what if one of the demons survived, or there’s a bloodline of poisonous half-breeds?

I’m wondering if there’s any connection between the instructions T’Vril was overheard giving in chapter 8, and the single moment during the succession ritual when the person who wields the Stone of Earth becomes one of the Three:
– T’Vril: “No. There won’t be another warning. When the signal comes, you’ll have one chance. If you’re still near the shaft when it comes…”
– Yeine, thinking about the ritual: It would be like striking a match. I imagined having that much power course through mortal flesh. A bright flare, perhaps a few seconds of steady flame. And then…
 – Is T’Vril planning to use the ritual to take down Sky somehow?

Sky sometimes ‘eats’ people, on nights where the moon and stars are hidden so Itempas is powerless. No bodies are ever found, but Yeine says she knows where they have gone. So many mysteries…

A line from Yeine’s narration: This is an approximation, you realise. This is what your mortal mind can comprehend.
 – So is Yeine no longer mortal?

The idea of a lover as an enemy or a danger keeps coming up: Scimina’s relationship with Nahadoth is very dangerous, and for that reason at least Yeine avoids entering into a similar relationship. The story of the woman who birthed the first demon with Nahadoth is a tragedy. The Darre’s rituals for female warriors position men as both adversaries and lovers. The rivalry between Itempas, Nahadoth and Enefa led to the God War and all the trouble that makes up the story.

 

“The head of the clan must have the strength to kill even loved ones.” Sieh Shrugged. “It’s easy to sentence a servant to die, but what about a friend? A husband?”

– So was Dekarta showing strength by having Kinneth poisoned (if that was the case)? Many characters have said that Kinneth was merciless enough to be the perfect heir. Does this suggest that she was strong enough to have harmed her husband or Yeine in some way that hasn’t been revealed yet? Or was it when she fell in love that she realised she didn’t really have the strength to be the Arameri ruler?

11 thoughts on “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms read-along part 2

  1. “Parents are also more complex people than their children might initially assume” So true! I’m still at the stage where I’m realizing this and it’s freaking weird >.> I totally hope Kinneth’s plan will slowly unfold though, that would be awesome 😀

    “it’s just that individual humans are insignificant to them” So true and something both I and Yeine need to keep in mind. I keep assuming that they care about her and will want what is best for everyone, but there’s really no reason for them to other than the fact that I care about her, haha.

    Oo, I really like your idea for the origin of the plague *contemplates*

    • Yeah, I’ve also been learning more things about my family, and it’s such a mind job! Weird how it takes us quite a while to realise how our parents, aunts and uncles are just normal, dysfunctional people like everyone else 😀

  2. Very interesting idea that Kinneth might have spent her own life like large currency. Perhaps she expected that her death would set large things in motion.

    I also suspect that the Walking Death is a way to control the masses, or rather disrupt any section of the commons from becoming too powerful and therefore able to challenge the Arameri.

    Yes! Nahadoth and Itempas are a fascinating…couple? These gods aren’t perfect. They are complex and flawed and don’t conform to human norms. It’s all very fascinating.

    While this is a reread for me, I don’t recall what T’vril is up to…but yeah, it sounds like shit will get real during the ceremony.

    • I keep getting the impression that Kinneth had something big planned, even if she wasn’t able to pull it off. I really want to know more about her.

      Hehe, and Itempas seemed rather dull at first. I wonder what would happen if he were alone in a room with Nahadoth…

  3. I love all you’re comments. The idea that Kinneth could have caused her own death so much intrigue! That maybe she was playing the long game and left for a purpose, but I don’t know if Yeine was part of that..

    I’m not sure Gods, Gods who created everything, can be incestuous. They just are. They embody concepts more than anything else, Itempas – Order, Nahadoth – Chaos, Sieh – Childhood. They just aren’t going to think of things in the same way that we do.

    I’d forgotten that T’vil was up to something, wouldn’t that be interesting if he was going to try something at that precise moment in time. Oh I really want to get on and read the whole thing!!

    • Thanks!

      Oh, I hadn’t thought of the way the gods embody concepts in terms of their sexual relationships. Sieh is the result of Chaos (Nahadoth) and Creativity/Life (Enefa) in union. What if Chaos and Order produced a child? What kind of cosmic effects could their relationship have?

      I hate waiting to read ahead as well! But it helps that I do all the reading in one indulgent binge session on a Friday and Saturday. It’s also nice to have it fresh in my mind to answer the questions.

  4. As you were flying home I was flying out! they put me on an earlier flight, and i ran across that airport like I was being chased by the zombie apocalypse. You know that jerk who gets on right as they are trying to close the doors and causes the flight to leave late? Yeah, that was me.

    1. “Jemisin has also written quite complex characters here, people with warring motives and a lot of grey areas. Most can’t simply be defined as good or evil”
    yes!!! that! a hundred times, that!!! it’s interesting that Yeine is practically interviewing everyone she meets to learn more about her own mother. she’s hearing people say things about her mother, and it feels like they are talking about a complete stranger.

    2.” Yeine revealed that she’s narrating this while dead, ”
    wait, i thought that was a dream? well, SHIT. or we’re all just interpreting scenes slightly differently, which is cool as hell. of course she wants to help the gods, but at the expense of her own life? yeah…… NO. I am anxious to get to the ceremony, because i think Yeine is going to surprise everyone.

    5. I loved the story about Enefa and her two siblings. I have a thing for mythology. and what happens to the characters *after* the story? well…. this is what happens. they are still walking around, living their lives, dealing with humans, and imprisoned by the myth.

    “A line from Yeine’s narration: This is an approximation, you realise. This is what your mortal mind can comprehend.
    – So is Yeine no longer mortal?”
    perhaps she becomes trapped within Enefa, sort of how Enefa’s soul is currently trapped within her?

    • Hehe, when I hear calls for late passengers I always imagine them sipping whiskey in the bar and not giving a fuck about anyone else 🙂 I can imagine how cringe-worthy it must be to finally board with everyone glaring at you though!

      1. I love the way Kinneth is like this cunning, merciless figure lurking just off the page, like a ghost you can only ever see out of the corner of your eye.

      2. *goes to check*. Nope, that came at the end of the scene with Naha, Yeine and Scimina. I don’t think it was a dream. I’m not quite sure what she means by “dead” though….

      5. Me too! And I’m so glad there’s more in the third section.

      Yeine trapped within Enefa: ah, that’s an interesting theory. A god carrying a mortal’s soul within them. Hmm…. God damn it, I want to get to that ceremony! I’m glad I have the last section just because it means I can start reading as soon as I’m done with part 3’s questions.

  5. I think a lot of the reason why the Enefadeh aren’t as respectful of Yeine as they could be is that she is, after all, an Arameri, and they’re resentful that she’s not Enefa. I think there’s a lot more respect between them though than with any other mortal.

Leave a Reply

